Selecting more than one clip

Welcome to the Pyramix MassCore discussion forum.
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!
tim
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri May 17, 2002 05:10
Location: Glen Rock, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Selecting more than one clip

Postby tim » Fri Jan 26, 2007 19:41

Has anyone figured out a way to select only a few clips within a track group? Cntrl/click selects one clip/track, but let's say you want to select clips on only the three solo vocal tracks (out of a 32-track group)? You can select all the tracks/clips, then unselect all the orch tracks one-at-a-time with Shift/click...somewhat cumbersome. I've tried all of the modifier/shift/click combinations I can think of.

Of course you can put the vocal tracks into a separate track group, but there could be reasons you don't want to do this.

There must be a way....

Tim Martyn

dBRippel
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 21:50
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby dBRippel » Sat Jan 27, 2007 00:56

Hi,

Unfortunately, clips that are in the same track group are NOT automatically grouped for editing. Clips must be part of a "Clip Group" to be edited together. A clip group can contain clips from many track groups.

I have suggested for Merging to add a option in the Track Groups Tab that would group all clips in the track group for editing, regardless of wheteher they are part of a clip group or not. This way it would be very easy to ungroup all the clips in a track group, perform the edits on some of the tracks, and then regroup alle the clips in the track group. Pro Tools have this feature and I miss it EVERY time I work in Pyramix!

By SHIFT+ALT while clicking and dragging in the timeline with you mouse, you are able to make a selection of one or more clips on one ore more tracks, even if they are part of a clip group. With Edit>Snap>Snap Region Selection and Snap Selection Head turned on you will be able to select whole clips. You can extend the selection if you hover the cursor over the selection edge until it changes to a horizotal arrow, press SHIFT+ALT+Click and extend the selection to the edges of the clip.

The downside is, If you perform any edits on the seleced clip (moving it or making a cut) the clip is no longer a meber of its clip group, and you have to manually group it with the rest of the clip group it belongs to.

Confused? It is confusing!

Suggestion to Merging: implement SHIFT+CTRL click = select more than one clip within a clip group.

Regards,
Øystein Halvorsen
NRK

dBRippel
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 21:50
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby dBRippel » Sat Jan 27, 2007 01:12

Hi,

What makes the confusion complete is that if you select one ore more clips within a clip group and drag them on the timeline they will drop out of the clip group.
But if you CTRL+drag the same clips, the are still part of the original clip group!
Please explain Merging!

- Øystein -

MIDI69
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 16:14

Postby MIDI69 » Wed Feb 07, 2007 15:39

Hi Oystein,

thanks for your helpful posts. I have encountered similar problems with pyramix, especially when working with clip and track groups and the fade editor. I support your demand for an "edit grup"!
Let me describe the things I find the most important to be changed:
1: Multiple selection with Ctrl+click (as said by tim)
2: the selected clips must appear in the fade editor!! Currently, you cannot edit a clip group when it contains other clip groups. If you have built a group over a couple of others, you select it and open the fade editor, you won´t see its clips in the editor but the clips of a lower- layered group.
3: You must be able to change the fade parameters of a single track of a multitrack file in the fade editor. Therefore, you must be able to temporarily suspend single tracks from a group in the fade editor. Otherwise the whole mutitrack-editing is useless. When you re-open a so changed edit later, pyramix should still recognise it as one edit and open it in one fade editor.
What do you think about this?

Best regards

Matthias Middelkamp
music academy weimar, germany

User avatar
Graemme
Posts: 2215
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 22:18
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Postby Graemme » Wed Feb 07, 2007 17:58

Hi Matthias,

I agree with your first two points. Regarding your third point, you can quite easily edit (or not edit) a single track within a multi-track file by doing this:

In the Fade Editor, click on the left hand panel text where it says 'Edit On'. This text will turn red and change to 'Edit Off'. Now select the track(s) you want to edit individually and Shift-click them one at a time. Now you'll see that all tracks headers say either 'Edit On Diff' or 'Edit Off Diff' Now you can individually edit tracks within a group. When you finish editing and either close the fade editor or move onto the next fade, all tracks are reset to 'Edit On'. The clip retains it's previous grouping, even though the fades are no longer symmetric or the audio has been time slipped.

I hope that this is what you were asking about :)

Best,

Graemme

MIDI69 wrote:3: You must be able to change the fade parameters of a single track of a multitrack file in the fade editor. Therefore, you must be able to temporarily suspend single tracks from a group in the fade editor. Otherwise the whole mutitrack-editing is useless. When you re-open a so changed edit later, pyramix should still recognise it as one edit and open it in one fade editor.
Graemme Brown
Zen Mastering
1460 Wild Rose Drive
Gabriola Island, BC
Canada V0R 1X5
+1.604.874.9096

"A Horus, A Horus; My Kingdom for a Horus!"

dBRippel
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 21:50
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby dBRippel » Fri Feb 09, 2007 00:51

MIDI69 wrote:2: the selected clips must appear in the fade editor!! Currently, you cannot edit a clip group when it contains other clip groups. If you have built a group over a couple of others, you select it and open the fade editor, you won´t see its clips in the editor but the clips of a lower- layered group.


Hi Matthias,

This depends on how you open the Fade Editor. If you open the editor with "Clips>Edit Fade Near Cursor" (Q) or "Clips>Edit Fade Near Mouse" (W), only the clips in the lower-layered groups on the selected track will appear in the editor.
There are 2 ways around this:

1. Make a selection (click+drag mouse) that spans over the fades you want to edit and open the editor with "Fade Editor>Open Editor".

2. With the editor already open, you can make a selection over the fades you want to edit. As long as the selection spans over all the clips in the clip group, they will all appear in the editor.

Choosing "Selection=YES" in the Track Groups Tab will ensure that all the clips in your Track Group are part of a selection (click+drag mouse), even if they are not grouped as a clip group. You can still make selections (click+drag) on individual clips by pressing SHIFT+ALT while selecting.

For some strange reason, when the clips in your clip group are already part of a lower-layered clip group, if you make a separation or edit, it is not possible to select only the separated clips by clicking on them. All the clips in the clip group are selected when you click on the separated clips. The Fade Editor will then open focused at the left edge of your clip group. This means you have to TAB your way to the fade you want to edit with the Arrows (Select/Edit Next Fade) in the Fade Editor or manyally make a selection over the fade you want to edit after the fade editor has opened.

Best,

Øystein

dBRippel
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 21:50
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby dBRippel » Fri Feb 09, 2007 01:14

MIDI69 wrote:3: You must be able to change the fade parameters of a single track of a multitrack file in the fade editor. Therefore, you must be able to temporarily suspend single tracks from a group in the fade editor. Otherwise the whole mutitrack-editing is useless. When you re-open a so changed edit later, pyramix should still recognise it as one edit and open it in one fade editor.


In addition to Graemmes tip, you can also edit one fade within a clip group by selecting the fade with SHIFT+ALT+Click+Drag.
When you open the fade editor, only the selected fade will appear. It will still be part of the clip group if you later want to edit all the fades in the clip group.

With the fade editor open you can use the same key modifiers to select one or more fades in a clip group (in the EDL). Only the selected fade(s) will appear in the fade editor.

- Øystein -