Where is In Place

Welcome to the Pyramix MassCore discussion forum.
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!
Perfect Record
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 06:09
Location: St Paul, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Where is In Place

Postby Perfect Record » Fri Jun 21, 2019 02:30

I wanted to use In Place panning on an aux buss, but I think it's now gone in Pyramix.

In Place, as in set pan of channel in aux to the same as the main stereo pan.

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Where is In Place

Postby fl » Fri Jun 21, 2019 17:54

Take a look in the manual on page 298. There appears to be a "All In Place" setting available through the View/Hide box at the bottom of each Strip.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
• Pyramix Native 11.1.6
• Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7) - Bootcamp 5.1.5621 - Win7 Pro SP1 64
• HP 7100 Mini-tower - Win10 Pro 64 1809
• RME Fireface 800 ASIO driver 3.125 or ASIO4All 2.13

Perfect Record
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 06:09
Location: St Paul, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Where is In Place

Postby Perfect Record » Fri Jun 21, 2019 18:57

If you have more than one buss, it appears that Pyramix decides what buss to follow for In Place panning. I don't see a means of choosing the buss that makes most sense.

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Where is In Place

Postby fl » Sat Jun 22, 2019 14:37

There are busses, and then there are busses...

The Mix Groups/Buses and Aux Groups/Buses route audio from strips to their respective summing masters. However a Panning Control Bus, in the words of the manual, "does not process audio and has no Channels, no associated Output Strip and no I/O. Any General Mix Bus / Mix Group / Aux Bus / Aux Group uses the information generated by a Panning Control Bus to pan sound sent to their respective channels". If you only have installed one Panning Control Bus in your mixer, it will control panning to ALL signal routing, be it to a Mix Bus or Group, or an Aux Bus or Group. In essence, it provides "Panning in Place" all the time. If you have a Mixer Strip feeding both a Mix Bus and an Aux Group, and there is only one Panning Control Bus, then both the Mix and the Aux will be panned the same. This applies even when there are differing numbers of channels in the respective summing buses. If the pan output of a mono Strip is 60% Left, then it will be panned that way even if the Aux Group is Stereo and the Mix Bus is 5.1 - it will be 60% Left between the Right and Left Channels, as determined by the channel assignements of the Panning Control Bus assignment itself. If, for any reason, you require different panning for different summing destinations, then simply install a second Panning Control Bus, assigning each to their intended signal flows.

Yes, it's a brain bender, but the manual lays it out starting on page 233.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
• Pyramix Native 11.1.6
• Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7) - Bootcamp 5.1.5621 - Win7 Pro SP1 64
• HP 7100 Mini-tower - Win10 Pro 64 1809
• RME Fireface 800 ASIO driver 3.125 or ASIO4All 2.13