Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Self-explained! ;-)
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!
tas
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby tas » Tue Jan 31, 2012 16:40

This thought just hit me while mixing, but it may well be complete rubbish or just related to my style of mixing. Which is is getting the required balance with the odd peaks happening here and there due to transients of percussive sounds, mostly. I then go and take them down one by one with automation. Which on its own is a laborious process of spotting the spots.
So I though it could be neat if the daw just puts out the markers on the timeline (by choice obviously).
Just wanted opinions on this. I know its always easier to pull down all faders or even the master fader, but for some reason I never do this. Perhaps I am totally wrong, but I am aiming for a realistic dynamic range depiction.

On a side note, and for lack of solid theoretical background, I notice that the PMX VU meter does not peak at the same places and not with the same values on consecutive runs of the exact same material. Is this due to inter sample peaks not being measured properly? Do we need a true peak meter to be absolute?
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX

klaukholm
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby klaukholm » Tue Jan 31, 2012 18:36

Should be pretty easy to implement as there is already the peak list.

User avatar
allemano bernard@neuf.fr
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:49

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby allemano bernard@neuf.fr » Tue Jan 31, 2012 18:43

Hi, tas,

You can make a selection and work with "enveloppe" (Ctrl Maj P) very useful, and you can add fades. I make this because ( for me) it's more easy and quick.
For those problems, I use also (a little, but very little) compression with the "striptool" and it conserve a very natural and nice sound.
And here, a topic for the vu meter problem in Pyramix:

http://forum.merging.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2486&p=8998&hilit=vu+meter+pre+post#p8998

It is only my opinion, and I hope this can help you :)

Best,
Bernard
Last edited by allemano bernard@neuf.fr on Mon Feb 06, 2012 21:03, edited 1 time in total.
pyramix 10 Native; windows 10 64 Bits; Asrock Z 270 PRO 4; intel core i7 7700 4.20 GHz; 16G DDR4;
1 SSD M2 Nvme for system; 1 SSD M2 Nvme for medias; 1 WD Caviar Black 1T. for backups.

User avatar
J.Wajer
Posts: 1679
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:25
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby J.Wajer » Tue Jan 31, 2012 20:06

You could also copy paste the automation over the clips.
...Gracefully Ignored...

Perfect Record
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 06:09
Location: St Paul, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby Perfect Record » Tue Jan 31, 2012 20:46

It's a time waster, but I sometimes do a mix down just so that I can check the file and see what the peak level is. That doesn't fix the problem we're talking about here though.

Sonic had a feature where it would scan a file and place the play cursor at the peak. It would take 2 or 3 minutes to run a CD length file.

Sounds like there's a feature request in the works here...

tas
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby tas » Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:06

Interesting thoughts. Indeed it looks like a viable feature request. Looks like a lot of it already exists. * I guess the easiest would be to be able to doubleclick on the timecode of the peak list and get you on the spot

Didn't know about the peak list and the envelop punch is also great. thanks for the tips
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX

tas
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby tas » Mon Feb 06, 2012 17:02

By the way, can anyone recommend a reliable freeware vu-peak meter?
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX

User avatar
allemano bernard@neuf.fr
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:49

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby allemano bernard@neuf.fr » Mon Feb 06, 2012 18:56

Hi, Tas,

If It suits you, to have a good result on the mixer:

send the mixer output on internal bus, and connect it to a strip with Vu-Meter, (don't forget to put "internal bus return" or "mixer return", I'm not in front of my PMX) and now, you have a perfect real-time vu-meter. I suppose Vu-meter is included in your Pyramix version. If not, VB audio have a very good and effective vu-meter, but it is shareware.

But good,

But shareware,


But good,

I hope this can help you,

Best,

Bernard
pyramix 10 Native; windows 10 64 Bits; Asrock Z 270 PRO 4; intel core i7 7700 4.20 GHz; 16G DDR4;
1 SSD M2 Nvme for system; 1 SSD M2 Nvme for medias; 1 WD Caviar Black 1T. for backups.

tas
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby tas » Tue Feb 07, 2012 08:36

thanks Bernard!
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX

Larry Elliott
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 00:18
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby Larry Elliott » Sat Feb 11, 2012 07:46

tas wrote: I guess the easiest would be to be able to doubleclick on the timecode of the peak list and get you on the spot

Didn't know about the peak list and the envelop punch is also great. thanks for the tips


How do you display the peak list?

Thanks

User avatar
allemano bernard@neuf.fr
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:49

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby allemano bernard@neuf.fr » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:12

It' a popup in the mixer


see "peak logger" in the user manual

Best,
Bernard
pyramix 10 Native; windows 10 64 Bits; Asrock Z 270 PRO 4; intel core i7 7700 4.20 GHz; 16G DDR4;
1 SSD M2 Nvme for system; 1 SSD M2 Nvme for medias; 1 WD Caviar Black 1T. for backups.

Larry Elliott
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 00:18
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby Larry Elliott » Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:23

Thank you Bernard

User avatar
Graemme
Posts: 2216
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 22:18
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby Graemme » Sun Feb 12, 2012 01:09

This thread moved to 'Suggestions' from the 'Cellar.' It's a worthy topic that has been mentioned before.

My own thoughts:

Scanning should:

1) be real or 'faster than' real time

2) be based on a selection; the entire EDL or a particular mix bus output

3) Place markers or create a text list (user's choice)

There is a render plug-in that is 'almost' what is needed: 'The Glitch Detector'. However, It doesn't look at the mixer's output.

Regards,

Graemme
Graemme Brown
Zen Mastering
1460 Wild Rose Drive
Gabriola Island, BC
Canada V0R 1X5
+1.604.874.9096

"A Horus, A Horus; My Kingdom for a Horus!"

Larry Elliott
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 00:18
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Auto-marking peaks in the timeline

Postby Larry Elliott » Sun Feb 12, 2012 01:16

Another vote for Graemme's suggestions...

Larry