Ip camera over ravenna

Self-explained! ;-)
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Ip camera over ravenna

Postby klaukholm » Thu Apr 03, 2014 21:46

I would very much like to see implemented a simple ip camera that can exist on a ravenna network and easily be called up on the computer monitor.

Right now many of us bring a long coax and a bunch of hardware to see conductors etc.
In large installations, this could be very helpful
Last edited by klaukholm on Wed May 21, 2014 00:46, edited 2 times in total.
klaukholm
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby Julian Gough » Sat Apr 05, 2014 23:16

I don't know the answer to your question with regard to Ravenna, but I suspect that any video over IP system would have latency which would make a conductor relay impractical.

Julian
Julian Gough
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 00:19
Location: Stoke Poges, UK

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby klaukholm » Sat Apr 05, 2014 23:24

Julian Gough wrote:I don't know the answer to your question with regard to Ravenna, but I suspect that any video over IP system would have latency which would make a conductor relay impractical.

Julian


For broadcasts, you just need to see what is going on stage i.e. presenter enters - starts talking - walks off - conductor enters etc.
The same goes for sessions where it is helpful to have a visual cue as to what is happening.
klaukholm
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby P.Ghirardini » Sun May 11, 2014 18:56

Kjetil, great, I would also highly appreciate to know if it woulg work...
Peter Ghirardini
realsound.it
San Bernardo 43
I-33100 UDINE
P.Ghirardini
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 02:10
Location: Udine, Italy

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby klaukholm » Sun May 11, 2014 19:58

An engineer at the radio here will be testing an IP camera for OB as well as in their hall.
I have tested one here and it does the job very well. The latency is a non issue.
It would be nice to reduce the number of cat cables needed as well as being able to call it up in a small window on the regular monitor.
Last edited by klaukholm on Wed May 21, 2014 00:41, edited 1 time in total.
klaukholm
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby P.Ghirardini » Mon May 12, 2014 09:02

Hi Kjetil, very good to know, could you kindly provide the model of the camera you've tested on my private e-mail? In this case it works simply picking up the signal of the camera from the Ravenna Router and feeding it to a Video Monitor capable to receive signals from an ethernet camera? Of course, having a window for on the regular monitor would be stunning...
All the best,

Peter
Peter Ghirardini
realsound.it
San Bernardo 43
I-33100 UDINE
P.Ghirardini
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 02:10
Location: Udine, Italy

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby Bernhard Guettler » Mon May 12, 2014 11:13

Hi all, is there a monitor that can display signals from IP cameras over LAN directly, without a PC in-between?
Best
B.
Last edited by Bernhard Guettler on Mon May 12, 2014 16:59, edited 1 time in total.
Bernhard Guettler
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 13:35
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby klaukholm » Mon May 12, 2014 15:37

P.Ghirardini wrote:Hi Kjetil, very good to know, could you kindly provide the model of the camera you've tested on my private e-mail? In this case it works simply picking up the signal of the camera from the Ravenna Router and feeding it to a Video Monitor capable to receive signals from an ethernet camera? Of course, having a window for on the regular monitor would be stunning...
All the best,

Peter

I tried a regular D-link cube camera to a laptop. I have not tried it on the recording system.

Bernhard, the closest i have seen to a standalone display is an app for iphone and ipad. I am equally interested in a simple standalone small display with hardwire LAN input
klaukholm
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby charlienyc » Mon May 19, 2014 23:48

<message deleted>
Last edited by charlienyc on Wed May 21, 2014 01:23, edited 1 time in total.
[size=50][color=#008000]2x MassCore v10.1.4 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus w/3 AD8p, 6 AD8, 1 DA8, 2 DA8p
Native v10.1.4 Win7/64 Pro i7 HP
Native v10.1.4 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U 2.6GHz
Native V8.1 Win7/32 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V8.1 Win7/32 ThinkPad R61
User avatar
charlienyc
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby klaukholm » Tue May 20, 2014 22:49

Charlie

I want to be able to use preexisting Dante and Ravenna networks to also run video if this can be implemented and certified.
The question comes as a result of discussions with a major broadcaster.
Last edited by klaukholm on Wed May 21, 2014 07:16, edited 1 time in total.
klaukholm
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby charlienyc » Tue May 20, 2014 23:07

<message deleted>
Last edited by charlienyc on Wed May 21, 2014 01:23, edited 1 time in total.
[size=50][color=#008000]2x MassCore v10.1.4 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus w/3 AD8p, 6 AD8, 1 DA8, 2 DA8p
Native v10.1.4 Win7/64 Pro i7 HP
Native v10.1.4 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U 2.6GHz
Native V8.1 Win7/32 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V8.1 Win7/32 ThinkPad R61
User avatar
charlienyc
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il

Re: Ip camera over ravenna

Postby Julian Gough » Tue May 20, 2014 23:34

Speaking personally, I would insist that Dante or Revenna networks on professional setups are isolated from everything else. I'm not saying it won't work, but if it is a case of running a second CAT5 or putting my reputation on the line, I'd go for the extra CAT5 any day.

No broadcaster would thank me for a corrupted recording (or broadcast).

Have you considered using multi core CAT5. This is from a UK supplier, but you might be able to get something local to you.

http://www.canford.co.uk/Products/20122 ... re-Touring

As I say, that is my opinion. I have been known to push the envelope at times, but at the moment, I just don't know enough about IP to take that risk.

Regards,

Julian
Julian Gough
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 00:19
Location: Stoke Poges, UK


Return to Pyramix Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron