Page 1 of 1

SACD "rip"

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 18:11
by charlienyc
Hi,
I have a collection of SACDs I'd like to rip or encode into DSD files for home streaming purposes and backup. These discs are my property so there is nothing illegal about this. This is the one area of the music industry that successfully 'locked' discs from being easily copied. Doing a bit of research around the audiophile community, I'm only finding workarounds involving Oppo players and Sony PS3 game consoles. Like most players, my player won't output DSD digitally. Also I have no assurance it's not downsampling to PCM.
What I have that most audiophiles don't is some DSD-capable pro gear, including a MassCore / Horus system with the appropriate DSD-capable A/D/A cards, and a Tascam DV-RA1000. I still don't have a transport that will read the discs (save for the aforementioned player), though. What would I need to do this?
Cheers,
-Charlie

Re: SACD "rip"

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 23:31
by mpdonahue
Charlie,
Unfortunately there is no easy way. The only ways are to find the PS2 that has not been upgraded or to do what we did and mod a player to output DSD on SDIF2.
The PS2 rout is the much easier rout as it creates in one step an ISO file that can be used in Foobar or Jriver directly and can be ripped out to DSDEM files. Playing the stuff out is time consuming and you lose all the meta data.
If you search around the interwebs, you will probably find a lot of the material already converted to ISO.
All the best,
-mark

Re: SACD "rip"

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 00:15
by DJS
https://www.computeraudiophile.com/foru ... ent-559449
I have an Oppo 103 and it works well.

Re: SACD "rip"

Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 05:19
by crna59
We did this 10yr. ago for HDtracks using a Sonoma system with either Playback Designs MPS-5 or the EMM Labs CDSD transport.
There was also a workaround using the Merging Legacy cards with SDIF-3 daughter cards and EMM Labs CDSD/ADC-8 IV

We now use Pyramix Native with the Playback Designs MPS-5 and USB-X III. We've done a few thousand this way!

Re: SACD "rip"

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 18:27
by charlienyc
DJS wrote:https://www.computeraudiophile.com/forums/topic/28569-sacd-ripping-using-an-oppo-or-pioneer-yes-its-true/#comment-559449
I have an Oppo 103 and it works well.


David I forgot to thank you earlier. Picked up a 103 locally and now all my SACDs are (happily) ripped! Thanks for the link!! :D