Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Forum to discuss your Pyramix systems, motherboards, RAID arrays, graphic cards, laptops, etc..
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby AxL » Mon Nov 01, 2010 13:06

Hello!
Does anybody use a motherboard with the chipset : Intel P45?
I am trying to troubleshoot my system and it seems something wrong with my hardware config, not sure yet if it's the chipset compatibility or anything else.

After a few minutes running without any problem, I get a small burst out of pyramix on all physical channels (with a cut if recording) then recording gets square signal added (which cannot be heard until playback). After a while pyramix gives a non-stop burst on all channels and I need to restart the application as everything starts running slow. Pyramix crashes on closing when this happens.

Any idea? Anybody got the same kind of problem in the past?

Motherboard Asus P5QC Intel Socket 775
Processor Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 GHz 1333 MHz FSB 12MB cache
RAM Corsair DDR3 XMS3-1333Mhz 2x1024 MB
Graphic Card Asus GeForce 6400GS EN8400GS SILENT/HTP/512M 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16
System Drive Corsair SSD Reactor R60 CSSD-R60GB2-BRKT
Storage Drives Samsung HD154UI 2x1.5 TB (Raid 1)
Sound Cards 1x Myk X-50 Adat
1x Myk X-50 MADI
User avatar
AxL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 15:06
Location: Geneva / Switzerland - Berlin / Germany

Re: Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby allemano bernard@neuf.fr » Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:09

Hello !

I work actually with a P5Q deluxe and it woks fine... but I have a MYK X 30,


Best regards,

Bernard
pyramix X Native; windows 10 64; GigaByte Z87X-D3H; intel core i5; 16G DDR3; 1 X SSD for system; 1 X SSD for medias; 1 WD Caviar Black 500G for backups.
User avatar
allemano bernard@neuf.fr
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:49
Location: le Beaujolais France !

Re: Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby AxL » Wed Nov 03, 2010 11:35

Hello Bernard,

Thanks for your answer. It's good to hear somebody has a P45 working. I thought for a while the werent working at all.
I will investigate further and let you know.

Anybody else?
User avatar
AxL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 15:06
Location: Geneva / Switzerland - Berlin / Germany

Re: Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby Graemme » Sat Nov 13, 2010 09:18

Hi there,

Gigabyte P45 motherboard here with no problems like the one that you've described.

Best Regards,

Graemme
Graemme Brown
Zen Mastering
1460 Wild Rose Drive
Gabriola Island, BC
Canada V0R 1X5
+1.604.874.9096

"A Horus, A Horus; My Kingdom for a Horus!"
User avatar
Graemme
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 22:18
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby Paulo M » Sat Nov 13, 2010 12:38

I did run Pyramix with that chipset in the past without problems. On a more recent system(x48) I had a problem similar to what you described, using a X50 MADI, but Pyramix was not crashing, just having the bursts. The cause was related to the interaction between the X50 MADI and an SSL Alpha Link converter. The card needed to have a small resistor added to avoid that. Anyway, it does not seem to be your case. Apparently you have a normal system, but I would check some things. By the way, are you using Masscore or not? If so, the Geforce is a no go.

1-Run the latency checker to avail your system latency: http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml

2-Disable Hyperthreading on the BIOS if enabled

3-Fit a graphic card other than Geforce just to check. Use a Radeon chipset based card. I use the small fanless ones (ASUS 4350 Silent) with good results.

4-Check if your Mykerinos cards are firmly inserted on the slots and if your HDTDM cable is in position.
Best regards,

Paulo M

Pyramix 7.1 Masscore
VCube XE 3.1
MB5 Dual & X50 MADI
Win XP SP3
Intel Q9600/Gigabyte X48 DS5 Motherboard/ASUS 4350 Graphic card
User avatar
Paulo M
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 16:19
Location: Portugal

Re: Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby AxL » Tue Jan 04, 2011 15:54

Hi there,

Thank you for your answers.

After checking out as much as possible (latency checker, running 1 card, running a MB serie instead MYK-X, changing graphic card to ATI, disabling Hyperthreading, of course the cards were firmly inserted in the slots and the HDTDM cable in position) it appears that:

The motherboard intel P5QC is not fully compatible with the mykerinos X-50.

Is my only option to go back to an older motherboard (loosing DDR3 option)? I'll be happy to hear your advices !
User avatar
AxL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 15:06
Location: Geneva / Switzerland - Berlin / Germany

Re: Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby Paulo M » Tue Jan 04, 2011 16:20

The motherboard intel P5QC is not fully compatible with the mykerinos X-50.

Is my only option to go back to an older motherboard (loosing DDR3 option)? I'll be happy to hear your advices !


My advice is that you contact Merging directly to be sure of which motherboard do they recommend for your particular setup, before spending money. I did use an X50 on a Gigabyte GA X48 DS5 (DDR 2 RAM) with no problems until know, but is a two year board by know and won´t support the new Intel i series processors, so I guess you better check other options first. Also, there is notice on the forum about incompatibilities of this board(X50) with i series processors, so avoid problems and get in touch with Merging first.
Best regards,

Paulo M

Pyramix 7.1 Masscore
VCube XE 3.1
MB5 Dual & X50 MADI
Win XP SP3
Intel Q9600/Gigabyte X48 DS5 Motherboard/ASUS 4350 Graphic card
User avatar
Paulo M
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 16:19
Location: Portugal

Re: Chipset Intel P45 / ICH10R

Postby AxL » Mon Feb 14, 2011 14:13

Checked with Merging's team: motherboard isnt reliable enough.

Got an older MB (Intel DP35DP, built July 2007) with no DDR3 support, I am back with DDR2 :( but it works!
User avatar
AxL
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 15:06
Location: Geneva / Switzerland - Berlin / Germany


Return to Pyramix Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest