Timecode ref video Horus

Forum to discuss your Pyramix systems, motherboards, RAID arrays, graphic cards, laptops, etc..
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!
Little tribeca
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:05

Timecode ref video Horus

Postby Little tribeca » Sat Oct 03, 2015 14:38

Dear all,

I would like to understand why ccan't we synchronise with timecode with video in Pyramix native? why it only works for masscore? Of course we have a masscore system but not suitable for our laptop unfortunately...
Sometime you have to travel far and be light as possible, i hope it will be possible soon

Best regards

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Timecode ref video Horus

Postby fl » Sat Oct 03, 2015 15:43

Are you talking about recording, synced to incoming timecode, as you would on a location shoot?

Or are you talking about running a Project session with Pyramix, with video playback in sync with the cursor on the timeline?

If it's the latter, you used to be able to do this with versions prior to version 9, as long as the video files were, or were converted to, AVI format, because Pyramix had access to a Windows native playback method, the name of which escapes me now. At any rate, with the arrival of Pyramix version 9, the requirement for synced video playback is the new VCube Essential, which is a paid upgrade to Pyramix.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.1.5
Win7 Pro SP1 64
Bootcamp 5.1.5621
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.125

Little tribeca
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:05

Re: Timecode ref video Horus

Postby Little tribeca » Sat Oct 03, 2015 17:48

Sorry maybe i explained not so good

I mean in a recording situation where you work with a video team where you want to sync with an incomming timecode from them

Little tribeca
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:05

Re: Timecode ref video Horus

Postby Little tribeca » Wed Oct 07, 2015 21:11

nobody have a solution?

klaukholm
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Timecode ref video Horus

Postby klaukholm » Thu Oct 08, 2015 09:59

Not sure what you are having problems with, but here is a sticky regarding timecode with native.
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9852&p=30945&hilit=timecode+native#p30945

Little tribeca
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 12:05

Re: Timecode ref video Horus

Postby Little tribeca » Thu Oct 08, 2015 20:31

i know about this but it don't work anyrmore in pyramix 9, it was working on 8....

Julian Gough
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 00:19
Location: Stoke Poges, UK

Re: Timecode ref video Horus

Postby Julian Gough » Sun Oct 18, 2015 00:19

Little tribeca wrote:Sorry maybe i explained not so good

I mean in a recording situation where you work with a video team where you want to sync with an incomming timecode from them


Sorry a bit late to this party.

I posted a solution to this on the Pyramix Native section of this forum, Graemme then stuck it to the top of the list, it's not hard to find.

EDIT : I see klaukholm has already posted a link to my post

I do have a bit of a postscript to that post. I noticed that quite soon after going into record the sync started to drift. This is despite everything being locked to a single source. Theoretically it should not be possible as Pyramix should just be counting samples, but it was happening. I reported the problem to my dealer who managed to repeat the fault. So I left it with them.

When the next version of Pyramix came out ( version 9 ) I tried locking a recording to timecode but the fault still existed. though it did see timecode so I'm not sure why you are having problems.

I haven't tried this recently as I no longer use Pyramix for this purpose, I have purchased Reaper which will take timecode on any audio input, you just tell it where. It records BWAVs with no argument on a PC or Mac, and since in my case, most of the audio comes in the form of a MADI stream I have now got myself a RME MADIfaceXT, 1U half width. I was using it today, it just worked.

Sorry Merging, I tried to use Horus/Pyramix but it was just too difficult. I still use Pyramix when recording using masscore and for editing and remixing, but if I am travelling light weight, it has to be Reaper. I can't rely of Pyramix. Which in this situation is vital.

Julian