Intel C602 chipset

Forum to discuss your Pyramix systems, motherboards, RAID arrays, graphic cards, laptops, etc..
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Intel C602 chipset

Postby AkaiDD » Mon Apr 14, 2014 14:17

Hello,
Is the Intel C602 chipset compatible for building MassCore Ravenna Pyramix DAW? I'd like to use Supermicro 6037R-72RF or similar for film dubbing stage setup.
Regards, Max Romasevitch
MELNITSA Animation Studio
AkaiDD
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 00:03
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby AkaiDD » Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:47

So, everybody in developer's camp have no idea?
Regards, Max Romasevitch
MELNITSA Animation Studio
AkaiDD
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 00:03
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby klaukholm » Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:00

Merging has pretty clear recommendations on tested motherboards and also sell four different turnkey systems.
Have you looked into the Merging Quintessence PCT-R4W7?

http://merging.com/support/pc-config
Last edited by klaukholm on Fri Apr 18, 2014 14:52, edited 1 time in total.
klaukholm
 
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby AkaiDD » Fri Apr 18, 2014 13:40

The link you provided is well known. I wouldn't have asked if I needed low-budget solution.
Regards, Max Romasevitch
MELNITSA Animation Studio
AkaiDD
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 00:03
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby Bernhard Guettler » Mon Apr 21, 2014 13:45

Max, I could sell you one of the Merging recommended MoBo at ten times the going price, which would solve your problem of not going low budget. Deal? 8)
Bernhard Guettler
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 13:35
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby AkaiDD » Wed Apr 23, 2014 12:29

That's a nice joke, Bernhard, but the question was about C602 Chipset.
Regards, Max Romasevitch
MELNITSA Animation Studio
AkaiDD
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 00:03
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby Bernhard Guettler » Thu Apr 24, 2014 21:34

Out of curiosity, what's your requirement, that a current recommended Intel chipset with an i5 is not sufficient for? Merging has been supporting or even requiring Intel Xeon architecture many years ago, but apparently not anymore.
And you should ask Merging directly about C602 boards.
Bernhard Guettler
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 13:35
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby AndrewB » Wed Jul 02, 2014 03:18

AkaiDD wrote:Hello,
Is the Intel C602 chipset compatible for building MassCore Ravenna Pyramix DAW?


Here is a link to people that do use C602 with Mykerinos.
viewtopic.php?f=54&t=8519 (HP Z820)

We have had our Ravenna Masscore card for a while but haven't installed it yet. We were waiting for the 64-bit masscore Pyramix (now arrived).
viewtopic.php?f=54&t=9963 (HP Z620)

Recently however I see issues posted with Native and Masscore on the same machine. We recently started using Sequoia, and wish to keep it going. So it might be a little longer until I can get back to you on the Z620/Masscore with personal experience, thought I'm pretty confident - as long as I can reboot in Native !

Using Horus for both Mass Core and Native:
viewtopic.php?f=54&t=10258
User avatar
AndrewB
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 06:24
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby kwithnail » Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:16

I know it's not quite what you asked, but we get on very well with Pyramix Native/HAPI on a C602 SM board. Only thing I'd say (and perhaps why some people are evading the answer a bit) is that Pyramix is more responsive to clock speeds than core counts, so our two 2.4Ghz Xeons don't handle as much as a single 4Ghz Core i7. I wish I could try MassCore for you, but I only have Native here.
kwithnail
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 18:27

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby mpdonahue » Wed Jul 15, 2015 16:24

kwithnail wrote:I know it's not quite what you asked, but we get on very well with Pyramix Native/HAPI on a C602 SM board. Only thing I'd say (and perhaps why some people are evading the answer a bit) is that Pyramix is more responsive to clock speeds than core counts, so our two 2.4Ghz Xeons don't handle as much as a single 4Ghz Core i7. I wish I could try MassCore for you, but I only have Native here.
Just FYI, PMX Native is single thread and doesn't utilize multiple cores.
All the best,
-mark
*********************
Mark Donahue
Soundmirror, Inc.
Boston, MA
mark@soundmirror.com
www.soundmirror.com
*********************
User avatar
mpdonahue
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 03:20
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby kwithnail » Fri Jul 17, 2015 13:17

mpdonahue wrote:
kwithnail wrote:I know it's not quite what you asked, but we get on very well with Pyramix Native/HAPI on a C602 SM board. Only thing I'd say (and perhaps why some people are evading the answer a bit) is that Pyramix is more responsive to clock speeds than core counts, so our two 2.4Ghz Xeons don't handle as much as a single 4Ghz Core i7. I wish I could try MassCore for you, but I only have Native here.
Just FYI, PMX Native is single thread and doesn't utilize multiple cores.
All the best,
-mark


That's about what we're finding in terms of performance. Of course we didn't build this system for PMX though.
kwithnail
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 18:27

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby Jesse.Lewis » Wed Jul 22, 2015 15:37

This is the same here - core usage in Native is a struggle. Native does not appear to use more than one core of a big system. All mix engine, VST and VS3 processing is directed to one core on our 2xXeon 2.33 system (2 times 4 cores hyperthreaded to 16 total cores). Repeat: only one of the 16 virtual cores is used in Native. Can anyone else confirm? Perhaps someone with an i7 (8 virtual cores) can test processing with Native?

Jesse
Jesse.Lewis
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 18:58

Re: Intel C602 chipset

Postby phaseboy » Thu Jul 23, 2015 02:47

Have you guys tried disabling hyperthreading? I have never used more than an i5 on my native systems for this reason. On my i5 systems pyramix native most definitely uses multiple threads and multiple cores (how optimized it is for that I can't say - but I work on quite sizable projects without issue).

Regards,

Mark
Mark S. Willsher
http://www.pin3hot.com
User avatar
phaseboy
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 23:41
Location: London, UK


Return to Pyramix Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest