Easy Connect not connecting

Welcome to the Pyramix MassCore discussion forum.
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Easy Connect not connecting

Postby draudio2u » Thu Jan 25, 2018 17:26

Hi,
I have a brand new turn key system from Merging and a HAPI. Ravenna Easy connect is not populating on the Host side, and on the Device side the HAPI is grayed out.

The system was tested and working at the factory. Anyone have a solution for this? What changed?
User avatar
draudio2u
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 17:37
Location: New York City

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby charlienyc » Thu Jan 25, 2018 19:06

Just because I've done it before, I have to ask... Are you connected to the correct Ethernet port on the Hapi? If you connect it while standing in front of the unit, it's very easy to accidentally connect it to the top "Sec" port instead of the lower "Pri" port.
2x MassCore v11.0.6 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus for 72 In / 24 out in PCM
Native V11 Win10/64 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V11 Win10/64 ThinkPad P51 i7-7700HQ w/Hapi, iFi iDSD nano
Native V11 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U
User avatar
charlienyc
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby draudio2u » Thu Jan 25, 2018 19:52

Yes, I have made sure the connection is in the primary, not the secondary.
User avatar
draudio2u
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 17:37
Location: New York City

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby mpdonahue » Thu Jan 25, 2018 20:10

There won't be anything on the Left side until you launch Pyramix.....
-mark
*********************
Mark Donahue
Soundmirror, Inc.
Boston, MA
mark@soundmirror.com
www.soundmirror.com
*********************
User avatar
mpdonahue
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 03:20
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby draudio2u » Thu Jan 25, 2018 20:23

mpdonahue wrote:There won't be anything on the Left side until you launch Pyramix.....
-mark


When launching pyramix, it's not communicating with the hapi, and it gives us this error:

VS3 error: Failed to attach to ASIO driver

Warning: Initialization error
failed to init VS3

Some essential initialization has failed
Sorry, can't continue...
User avatar
draudio2u
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 17:37
Location: New York City

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby charlienyc » Thu Jan 25, 2018 21:52

Is the Hapi showing up in MT Discovery?
Is Ravenna ASIO set in VS3 control panel? This shouldn't change, if it was all working before transport, but is still something to check.
Upon launching the ASIO panel, you should be able to see the Hapi, change input & output numbers, etc.
You can do all of these steps before starting Pyramix. By the way I recommend adding MT Discovery to the startup folder. Then you'll always be sure the device is attached and 'seen' by the computer.

On my MassCore systems, each Horus is grayed out and in italics for about 2 minutes 15 seconds. Then they change to solid, non-italics and Pyramix can be run. This is because I have DHCP enabled on the Ravenna NIC. At home (Native system(s)), my Hapi always shows up immediately if the network connections are correct.
2x MassCore v11.0.6 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus for 72 In / 24 out in PCM
Native V11 Win10/64 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V11 Win10/64 ThinkPad P51 i7-7700HQ w/Hapi, iFi iDSD nano
Native V11 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U
User avatar
charlienyc
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby draudio2u » Thu Jan 25, 2018 22:46

Yes, HAPI shows in MT Discovery, but the ASIO in VS3 does not show it, so there is a disconnect somewhere there.
User avatar
draudio2u
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 17:37
Location: New York City

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby draudio2u » Fri Jan 26, 2018 05:33

Update: I thought I would try Ravenna ASIO Driver to see if it would allow the connection, and that was a mistake. It actually voided the Hapi all together. So I removed that application, rebooted a few times, reinstalled my license, and now I have no Hapi at all - not in MT Discovery, not in VS3, ... nowhere.

Thoughts anyone? Complete remove / reinstall of Pyramix?
User avatar
draudio2u
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 17:37
Location: New York City

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby draudio2u » Fri Jan 26, 2018 16:07

Image

Update: See screen shot.

It seems we were able to retrieve the Hapi in MT Discovery / ASIO / and we see it in Ravenna Easy Connect but it is still grayed out. Based on what you see on Ravenna ASIO Panel, I think this error means the IP address of the Hapi/merging is not in range of the native Network IP. IS this correct? Anyone have suggestions on this problem?
User avatar
draudio2u
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 17:37
Location: New York City

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby charlienyc » Fri Jan 26, 2018 17:02

The screen shot isn't coming through. Have you contacted Merging about this? It is highly recommended to do so and soon, before they're gone for the weekend.
2x MassCore v11.0.6 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus for 72 In / 24 out in PCM
Native V11 Win10/64 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V11 Win10/64 ThinkPad P51 i7-7700HQ w/Hapi, iFi iDSD nano
Native V11 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U
User avatar
charlienyc
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby klaukholm » Fri Jan 26, 2018 17:14

Contact the dealer where you purchased the unit. They are the appropriate channel for support. In turn the distributor.
klaukholm
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby ljudatervinning » Fri Jan 26, 2018 17:49

What IP adress do you have in Windows and Hapi?
Last edited by ljudatervinning on Sat Jan 27, 2018 20:52, edited 1 time in total.
Pyramix Native 11.0.6 / Ravenna ASIO 11.0.7
win10 Pro 1709 / i7 3770k / 32MB RAM / Nvidia GTX 670
ljudatervinning
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 00:00
Location: Sweden

Re: Easy Connect not connecting

Postby mpdonahue » Fri Jan 26, 2018 21:04

Please give the specifics of your system.
Masscore or Native
Is the Hapi connected to the computer directly, through a switch or a DHCP router?
MOBO or add on card NIC?
Version of PMX and Windows software?
I have the feeling this is a case of RTFM.
*********************
Mark Donahue
Soundmirror, Inc.
Boston, MA
mark@soundmirror.com
www.soundmirror.com
*********************
User avatar
mpdonahue
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 03:20
Location: Boston, MA


Return to Pyramix General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests