Edit in external editor - how to get file back in Pyramix?

Welcome to the Pyramix MassCore discussion forum.
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Edit in external editor - how to get file back in Pyramix?

Postby ljudatervinning » Mon Oct 23, 2017 19:06

I am fairly new to Pyramix and need to do some editing on a few clips in an external editor.
How do I exchange the old file with the new? It need to retain it's exact position in the project.
In wavelab, there is a function to change between different file-versions. Is there a similar function in Pyramix?
ljudatervinning

Re: Edit in external editor - how to get file back in Pyrami

Postby klaukholm » Mon Oct 23, 2017 21:07

Delete the old version from the timeline and paste new file to original timecode.

What is it you are having troubles with in regards to editing?
Maybe the best thing to do is figure out how to edit within PMX?
klaukholm

Postby DJS » Mon Oct 23, 2017 22:30

ljudatervinning wrote:I am fairly new to Pyramix and need to do some editing on a few clips in an external editor.
How do I exchange the old file with the new? It need to retain it's exact position in the project.
In wavelab, there is a function to change between different file-versions. Is there a similar function in Pyramix?

In the timeline, select the clip you want to update the media for, then, from media manager, hold control down while dragging the replacement media clip you want onto the selected clip in the timeline.

PS. Wavelab's replace media function is wonderful.
David Spearritt