Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

Welcome to the Pyramix MassCore discussion forum.
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

Postby just.sounds » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:11

Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

I saw the video on youtube about the ADR toolkit and the combination of source tracks and a compilation track looks very timesaving for me. Could you make a compilation track with multiple takes without the ADR kit?

Cheers
just.sounds
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 17:28

Re: Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

Postby fl » Thu Mar 09, 2017 18:28

Could you describe a little more precisely what you mean by "take comping"?

Also, a little more information about what you wish to accomplish would be helpful.

A link to the video you mentioned wouldn't hurt...
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.0.4/Native Music 9.1.10
Win7 Pro SP1 64/32
Bootcamp 5.1.5621/4.0.4033
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)/MacBook Pro 3.1 (Core2Duo)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.122
User avatar
fl
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

Postby just.sounds » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:18

I would like to record a few takes of seperate tracks and on the same place in the timeline. And i want to hear only one take at a time. It would be helpful if i could make cuts through all the tracks and solo and mute automation would automatically follow the bits i select.
just.sounds
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 17:28

Re: Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

Postby fl » Sat Apr 29, 2017 15:48

I couldn't find the online video you mentioned in your first post, so I'm still a little unclear as to what you want to do.

That said, I think there are a couple of ways...

You could make a series of recordings to a single Track or to several Tracks grouped in a Track Group (make this a "Source" group in the Track Groups Tab). Take a look at the section named 'Loop Recording With Simultaneous Playlist Creation" on page 514 of the manual. From the sounds of things, you don't need to worry about all the syncing with external machines, and chasing timecode, mentioned in the manual - just set things up to loop record onto the same tracks, into separate Playlists. Enabling the "Cursor Auto-Return" in the View menu makes this easy, as each time you hit Stop, your cursor will snap to the original start location automatically, ready for the next recording. This location does not even need to be the same place as where the "In" Marker is placed, so that you can give your performer(s) some pre-roll before Pyramix goes into Record. Going this route means that you don't have to predict in advance exactly how many Takes will be required - just keep making new recordings until you're satisfied.

The manual section mentioned above shows you how to set up recording to the same tracks over and over again, and having access to each Take individually by selecting each one's Playlist. Sections of these Playlisted Clips can be edited together in a second Track Group (the "Destination") through the normal Source-Destination Editing process.

Another, very different method would be to create several Track Groups each containing the number of Tracks required - one Group for each Take, and switching the Record Ready status from Group to Group while recording - having all Takes displayed simultaneously would make it possible to Automate Mutes and crossfades between them.

Which method you choose is going to be determined by whether you wish to make edits, or perform the transitions as Automated Mixer operations. While it requires the creation of a second "Destination" Track Group (which nevertheless can have its signal flow routed to the same Mixer Strips as the "Source" Track Group), I believe that the Editing method will give you what you're after more easily than doing the transitions from Take to Take on separate Tracks/Track Groups via Mixer Automation. For one thing, you don't have to fill up your screen with many Tracks and Track Groups, one each for each Take. Also, the transitions that you can do via Editing are likely to be much more controlled (and therefore seamless) than what you can do through Mixer Automation.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.0.4/Native Music 9.1.10
Win7 Pro SP1 64/32
Bootcamp 5.1.5621/4.0.4033
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)/MacBook Pro 3.1 (Core2Duo)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.122
User avatar
fl
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

Postby just.sounds » Sat May 20, 2017 12:10

Exactly this :D

https://youtu.be/0X85jb84nWw?t=3m47s
The "consolidate" track is what i need!
just.sounds
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 17:28

Re: Do you need an ADR toolkit for take comping?

Postby fl » Sat May 20, 2017 14:00

Then I guess you need to buy the ADR Toolkit as an "a la carte" add-on for your Pyramix license. Speak to your distributor for pricing, etc.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.0.4/Native Music 9.1.10
Win7 Pro SP1 64/32
Bootcamp 5.1.5621/4.0.4033
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)/MacBook Pro 3.1 (Core2Duo)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.122
User avatar
fl
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada


Return to Pyramix General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests