Pasting panning automatiek from surroundbus to mixbus

Welcome to the Pyramix MassCore discussion forum.
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!
TBR
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:02
Location: Amsterdam, the Nederlands
Contact:

Pasting panning automatiek from surroundbus to mixbus

Postby TBR » Wed Sep 28, 2016 18:40

I have a rather difficult issue:

In pyramix (v10) we worked with the old type surround bus and old type subgroup. We would put the subgroups in place so the panner of the surround bus was the panner for all the busses, no mater to witch subgroup it was going.

This worked fine as long as the project would stay 5.1. But now we are asked to investigate the possibility to deliver a mix in the Dolby ATMOS format. For this it is necessary to switch to a mixbus and mix groups, to be more flexible.

My question is simple, as we have done a lot of automation, I can't seem to convert the panning of the surround bus to the panning of the panner in the mixbus. Is there a way to do this? Or would it be difficult to enable the copying and pasting between different types of automation, not only would that solve my problem, it would open up a whole creative world in witch for example the fader gain of a channel could be pasted to the frequency of a filter .....

As you understand re doing all the panning automation in the panner of the mixbus would take a lot of time, and I don't have much time in my schedule ;-)

Any help would be appreciated
THX, wart

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Pasting panning automatiek from surroundbus to mixbus

Postby fl » Wed Sep 28, 2016 19:23

Instead of a Mix Group to replace the old Sub-Group, try using an Aux. Group, which should offer the same options for panning and routing as any Strip. If the panning doesn't match your needs, you can adjust the routing directly through the routing assignments at the top of the Strip/Group. You can also have more than one Panning Bus, so that different pannings can be applied to different Mix Busses (e.g., for stems), and these pans can be automated.

As for "Objects" in an Atmos soundfield - sounds with complex automated panning moving through several speakers, I don't believe that function is implemented in Pyramix (yet), but rather you'll wind up doing stems for static elements (music, dialogue) and simply define certain channels as outputs, which will be automated for position during the final soundtrack mixdown, through the dedicated Dolby software.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.1.5
Win7 Pro SP1 64
Bootcamp 5.1.5621
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.125

TBR
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:02
Location: Amsterdam, the Nederlands
Contact:

Re: Pasting panning automatiek from surroundbus to mixbus

Postby TBR » Wed Sep 28, 2016 20:06

Thx for the reply Frank.
The thing is: the panning automation is in the panner of the surround bus. This is a 5.1 bus. I want to switch to a mixbus because is flexible and I can make it 32.1 if I want to. And as far as I know, there is no way to paste the panning automation to an other panner, not even to an aux.

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Pasting panning automatiek from surroundbus to mixbus

Postby fl » Thu Sep 29, 2016 16:36

Ah, I understand now - you have panning automation already written under the "Legacy" bus model, and now you wish to convert your project to the Pyramix 10 bus model in order to create what is needed for a Dolby Atmos soundtrack - correct? I'm guessing that the automation doesn't survive the conversion, as the built-in conversion process changes Legacy Sub-Groups to Pyr.10 Mix Groups, and not to Aux. Groups.

I'm sorry then, that I can't help you, as I have no experience with automation in conjunction with Bus model conversions, and I'm not at all sure whether there are many users who do ('though I could be wrong). Perhaps it might be an idea to contact Merging Support directly, to see what they have to say.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.1.5
Win7 Pro SP1 64
Bootcamp 5.1.5621
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.125

TBR
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:02
Location: Amsterdam, the Nederlands
Contact:

Re: Pasting panning automatiek from surroundbus to mixbus

Postby TBR » Thu Sep 29, 2016 20:13

Thanks again Frank, you understand correctly ;-)
Perhaps contacting support directly is the best thing to do, as I also suspect this isn't easily solved .....

TBR
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:02
Location: Amsterdam, the Nederlands
Contact:

Re: Pasting panning automatiek from surroundbus to mixbus

Postby TBR » Fri Sep 30, 2016 11:53

official answer from support:

Unfortunately, it's not possible to copy the Panning automations of a Legacy bus to a new General mixing bus.
You can only copy panning automations of a Legacy bus to another legacy bus, and of a General mixing bus to another General mixing bus.

Fortunately, existing legacy Buses can be converted to General Mixing Buses :

Right-click on the legacy Bus and select
Bus > Convert ‘Bus XXX’ to the General Mixing Bus model.

It’s possible to add Panning Control Buses and assign them to the different General Mix Busses :
• Right-click on the legacy Bus and select
• Bus > Add > Panning Control Bus

http://www.merging.com/uploads/assets/I ... f#page=293
Be aware that new Mixing buses are not compatible with old versions of Pyramix (v9 and prior).

Best regards,
Guillaume