Page 1 of 1

USB Better Performance Setting

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 04:57
by Larry Elliott
I have been using USB drives for some tasks recently.

When I open a project I get a warning asking if I want to enable Better Performance Setting.

To date I have not enabled this as I have only been listening not recording.

Can someone explain what enabling Better Performance does? Will it cause problems if I have to use the USB drive on another computer?

Many thanks

Larry

Re: USB Better Performance Setting

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 19:19
by mpdonahue
Larry,
Better performance settings turn on the drive cache which improves performance significantly. The down side is that you can no longer just yank out the drive, you need to use "Safely Remove Hardware and Eject Media" to un-mount the drive.
To be honest, other than thumb drives, I turn on the better performance all the time when formatting the drives.
All the best,
-mark

Re: USB Better Performance Setting

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 21:57
by Larry Elliott
Thank you Mark

Re: USB Better Performance Setting

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 17:54
by Jesse.Lewis
And, no, it won't affect performance on other computers. Each system much activate the setting for each drive you plug in; though once active it will remain active every time that drive is used on the system.

cheers,
Jesse