Page 1 of 1

Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:06
by J.Wajer
Currently there are only two parameters controlling EQ on the Ramses channel strips, where you really should need three (F/G/Q) . The upper and the lower knob on the Ramses control Freq and Gain, both not the Q-Factor. I propose implementing a third knob; touching both upper and lower knob at the same time (thus grabbing both knobs in the middle) so:

Touch lower knob - Move Frequency
Touch upper knob - Move Gain
Touch both knobs - Move Q-Factor

It is very easy to grab them both, since they stick out very high on the controller.

This would be much more convenient than using the [mod] button which is usually too far off or in the way of my lowerarm.

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 22:54
by maurice
Hi Jaap,
the proposition is interestin, though you may note that there are 2 "mod" buttons, one on the lower active panel and one on the expert panel so that depending which side or buttons you are using your ither arm should be able to reach without a stretch the "mod" button

Regards

Maurice

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 16:19
by J.Wajer
maurice wrote:...your ither arm should be able to reach without a stretch the "mod" button
Yeah, but why stretch when the solution would be more intelligible and intuitive?

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 15:03
by florian
Problem is that only the low part of the encoder is touch sentisive... So we cannot know when the lower and the upper part are both touched.

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 16:18
by J.Wajer
florian wrote:Problem is that only the low part of the encoder is touch sentisive... So we cannot know when the lower and the upper part are both touched.
a, darn! Well, it was a nice idea :)

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 21:20
by J.Wajer
florian wrote:Problem is that only the low part of the encoder is touch sentisive... So we cannot know when the lower and the upper part are both touched.


On second thought: Doesn't really matter whether it is touch sensitive: moving both values could be interpreted as moving the Q no?

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 09:14
by florian
In fact these knobs have only one axis. The touch sensitive information allows to know if this is the lower part or not that is moving.

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:19
by J.Wajer
Ok. That settles this. Vergogna.