Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Ramses MSC and Isis discussion forum
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the bug reporting form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby J.Wajer » Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:06

Currently there are only two parameters controlling EQ on the Ramses channel strips, where you really should need three (F/G/Q) . The upper and the lower knob on the Ramses control Freq and Gain, both not the Q-Factor. I propose implementing a third knob; touching both upper and lower knob at the same time (thus grabbing both knobs in the middle) so:

Touch lower knob - Move Frequency
Touch upper knob - Move Gain
Touch both knobs - Move Q-Factor

It is very easy to grab them both, since they stick out very high on the controller.

This would be much more convenient than using the [mod] button which is usually too far off or in the way of my lowerarm.
...Gracefully Ignored...
User avatar
J.Wajer
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:25
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby maurice » Sun Jul 12, 2009 22:54

Hi Jaap,
the proposition is interestin, though you may note that there are 2 "mod" buttons, one on the lower active panel and one on the expert panel so that depending which side or buttons you are using your ither arm should be able to reach without a stretch the "mod" button

Regards

Maurice
maurice
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 16:10

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby J.Wajer » Mon Jul 13, 2009 16:19

maurice wrote:...your ither arm should be able to reach without a stretch the "mod" button
Yeah, but why stretch when the solution would be more intelligible and intuitive?
...Gracefully Ignored...
User avatar
J.Wajer
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:25
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby florian » Tue Jul 14, 2009 15:03

Problem is that only the low part of the encoder is touch sentisive... So we cannot know when the lower and the upper part are both touched.
florian
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 10:02
Location: Lausanne Switzerland

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby J.Wajer » Tue Jul 14, 2009 16:18

florian wrote:Problem is that only the low part of the encoder is touch sentisive... So we cannot know when the lower and the upper part are both touched.
a, darn! Well, it was a nice idea :)
...Gracefully Ignored...
User avatar
J.Wajer
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:25
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby J.Wajer » Tue Aug 18, 2009 21:20

florian wrote:Problem is that only the low part of the encoder is touch sentisive... So we cannot know when the lower and the upper part are both touched.


On second thought: Doesn't really matter whether it is touch sensitive: moving both values could be interpreted as moving the Q no?
...Gracefully Ignored...
User avatar
J.Wajer
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:25
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby florian » Wed Aug 19, 2009 09:14

In fact these knobs have only one axis. The touch sensitive information allows to know if this is the lower part or not that is moving.
florian
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 10:02
Location: Lausanne Switzerland

Re: Ramses EQ Addition proposal

Postby J.Wajer » Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:19

Ok. That settles this. Vergogna.
...Gracefully Ignored...
User avatar
J.Wajer
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:25
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands


Return to Merging Controllers (Ramses MSC - Isis)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest