Poor Video Quality with Quicktime Exported File

Welcome to the VCube discussion forum.
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Poor Video Quality with Quicktime Exported File

Postby Chris P » Wed Apr 12, 2006 18:44

Exported some VCube files as Quicktimes (using Mpeg, 98% compression with burnt in T/C). Burnt in T/C was set for upper left of frame.

The resultant files contained burnt in timecode which was of such poor quality it made them unusable.

Wondered if anyone else had come across this anomaly?

To make the Quicktimes usable I had to export the files as DV from VCube and then use Quicktime Pro (codec Mpeg4) to generate the files.
The burnt in T/C was now crystal clear.

Help or suggestions welcome.

Thanks.
:roll:
Chris P
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:45
Location: London

Postby Laurent Sevestre » Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:39

Hello Chris,

What was the initial codec for the video you have compressed with the MJPEG codec?
When you say unusable, do you mean that you can't read the burnt in TimeCode?

Laurent
Laurent Sevestre
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 19:01
Location: France

Postby Chris P » Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:50

Hi Laurent
The Quicktimes were made from a captured VCube file (D1 PAL, 720x576).
The file was exported with following settings
Quicktime-720x576,PAL,Upper Field 1st, Stretch Linear, JPEG compression, 98% Comp level

The burnt in timecode is just readable but not of sufficient quality to give out to our client for approval.
I have the files if you'd like them emailed??

Hope this helps

Chris.
Chris P
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:45
Location: London

Postby Laurent Sevestre » Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:16

Yes,

Send this file please.

Laurent
Laurent Sevestre
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 19:01
Location: France

Postby Laurent Sevestre » Thu Apr 13, 2006 16:07

Hello Chris.

Thank you for sending me your files.
The mpeg4 and the mpjeg encoded files feature the same quality when you playback them in VCube.
In the QuickTime Player, the mjpeg encoded file, is poorly displayed because it's interlaced and this player doesn't manage it correctly. That's why the TimeCode is horizontally sliced.
VCube can render in progressive scan to avoid such a problem in the QuickTime Player.

Regards,

Laurent
Laurent Sevestre
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 19:01
Location: France

Postby Chris P » Wed Apr 19, 2006 18:18

Hi Laurent
Using Progressive fixes my problem, Thanks!
However, if this is the best option to use then why does the VCube default to "upper field first" instead of "progressive"? Is there a way of making VCube default to render with the "progressive" option as default?

Thanks
Chris :wink:
Chris P
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:45
Location: London

Postby Laurent Sevestre » Wed Apr 19, 2006 18:41

Hi Chris,

There is no user preset for rendering. But you can create your own presets for composition video format and use it in the render panel.

Regards,

Laurent
Laurent Sevestre
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 19:01
Location: France


Return to VCube General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron