Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Pyramix Native users forum
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby Gaston69 » Thu Dec 27, 2012 20:59

Hi to all of you,

I just got registrated here on the forum in order to learn more about Pyramix. My name is Gaston and I am a free lance recording engineer (classical music, 101 big orchestra, with about 60 concerts per season) who uses now Pro Tools X native however I discover limitations within Avid etc.
Also I do work together from time to time with Producers who prefer PMX.

However I invested a whole lot of money into my Mac Pro 8-core Westmere fully equipped with 7Tb hard disks , 27" Cinem display and RME HDSPe MADI card. I hAve been reading that it is possible over Boot camp, Windows 7 Ultimate to run PMX, however would like to know the downfalls etc etc i.e. what are the things I need to take care off, is the Mac a Decent computer in order to record to run PMX 8.


Would like to get your experience, thoughts, suggestions, advice
Gaston69
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 20:39

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby Gaston69 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:01

43 views however no reply, is my question/demand something that hasn't been tested yet?
Gaston69
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 20:39

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby klaukholm » Wed Jan 02, 2013 17:04

I think a lot of us use the recommended systems.
If you look around on the forum, you can see a few threads where macboks are mentioned.
Native is a lot less fussy than masscore/mykerinos combos and our native system is running great on a non approved motherboard that was terrible for our mykerinos system
klaukholm
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby mpdonahue » Wed Jan 02, 2013 17:38

I suspect that it will run native fine. The only downside is that you will have to spend a little time tweaking the OS and services to get the DPC latency optimized. (Same as you would have to do with any new motherboard in a native situation).
The other thing to be aware of are the storage requirements. Protools requires HFS+ volumes to work from and PMX is optimized for NTFS with 64k block size. In your storage scenario, going back and forth between PMX and Protools will mean that some storage will have to be allotted for each system. Not a big deal, just be aware. Also, do not get Win7 ultimate. You'll spend a bunch of time weeding out a bunch of services and applications. Get Win7 Pro.
Finally, what you will find is that with a single MADI I/O the stock Native Music Pack will have all the I/O you will need, but, if you get the new RME MADI HDSPe FX, you'll need to add the "Extended native Audio Support" key to get more than 48 I/O at 2fs.
All the best,
-mark
*********************
Mark Donahue
Soundmirror, Inc.
Boston, MA
mark@soundmirror.com
www.soundmirror.com
*********************
User avatar
mpdonahue
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 03:20
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby tas » Fri Jan 04, 2013 19:35

Gaston,

I use a macbook pro 1.1, not 8-core. I use it daily so it works fine. I do have my share of issues which I report on this forum, but I do no think they are related to the MBP. Overall, I ve been working I ve been running my little studio fine for five years. 32 channel projects are quite common and when mixing, the CPU often works at 70%

In fact I am planning to move to MADI this month. I already purchased the RME MADIFX and will install soon. If you wanna hold on for a bit I can report how the transition went.
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX
tas
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby phaseboy » Fri Jan 04, 2013 23:42

I can't speak for your specific set-up but I run pyramix under windows 8 (pyramix 7 - have not been able to get 8 running under win8 yet) and windows 7 on both a mac mini and mbp and switch back and forth between osX and Win using both pyramix and pro-tools. Pyramix native runs well on both machines - no differently than on any windows machines I've used in the past.

I format all my audio drives (except mac osx system volume) as NTFS and use Paragon's NTFS for mac software in osX which works great without issues. Pro-Tools run fine using the ntfs drives in osX - have not had any problems. I also have their HFS+ for win on the windows side for when people give me hfs formatted drives.

My work is pretty varied although I don't do much very high track count high sample rate. Still on the mac mini system which is much less than what you have I regularly do up to 32 tracks of 96kHz, and 60+ tracks at 48kHz with picture.

Best Regards,

Mark
Mark S. Willsher
(studio: +1-818-284-6136)
http://www.pin3hot.com
User avatar
phaseboy
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 23:41
Location: San Francisco

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby Perfect Record » Sat Jan 05, 2013 00:18

tas wrote:Gaston,
...
In fact I am planning to move to MADI this month. I already purchased the RME MADIFX and will install soon. If you wanna hold on for a bit I can report how the transition went.


Are you going to use a Magma rack or similar for the RME card?
Perfect Record
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 06:09
Location: St Paul, Minnesota USA

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby tas » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:08

To be honest no idea what that is? I thought just the card and a madi cable are sufficient?
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX
tas
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby tas » Sat Jan 05, 2013 14:31

ok I found out... way too expensive, will spend that on converters. I should have enough slots on the motherboard
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX
tas
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby Paulo M » Sat Jan 05, 2013 14:34

To be honest no idea what that is? I thought just the card and a madi cable are sufficient?


Basically an external box that allows you to install PCIe or PCI cards that do not fit inside the main computer.
Best regards,

Paulo M

Pyramix 7.1 Masscore
VCube XE 3.1
MB5 Dual & X50 MADI
Win XP SP3
Intel Q9600/Gigabyte X48 DS5 Motherboard/ASUS 4350 Graphic card
User avatar
Paulo M
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 16:19
Location: Portugal

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby Perfect Record » Sat Jan 05, 2013 18:32

tas wrote:ok I found out... way too expensive, will spend that on converters. I should have enough slots on the motherboard

From your earlier post it sounded like you intended to use the RME MADI FX with your Macbook Pro.
Perfect Record
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 06:09
Location: St Paul, Minnesota USA

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby tas » Sat Jan 05, 2013 19:58

sorry I meant Mac Pro. interesting device indeed, the price tag I find hard to understand, but that is usual. Unless I looked at the wrong model or sth.
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX
tas
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby Gaston69 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 20:23

First of all I want to thank all of you for your input and sharing your experiences.

I am in the middle of the season, will be recording all the Beethoven Symphonies, Mahler's 2nd and another piece from a local composer. What I believe is that it take a while to master PMX and also I need to reconfigure my Mac Pro etc which I find a bit to risky. All my recordings are live recordings with a dress rehearsal so cannot effort to get stuck in the middle of the heat.

I am considering to start using PMX on my Macbook Pro in order to discover PMX, if I am confident enough with it's interface I will install it on the Mac Pro.
Does anybody know for how long you can use a demo, and is this demo period long enough to get familiar with PMX. I like a user friendly interface ;-)
Gaston69
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 20:39

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby Perfect Record » Sat Jan 05, 2013 23:50

Gaston69 wrote:...Does anybody know for how long you can use a demo, and is this demo period long enough to get familiar with PMX. I like a user friendly interface ;-)


Pyramix is a much different mindset than Pro Tools, but Pyramix is so much better suited to the work you're going to do.

Some of the Pyramix documentation is not as transparent as it should be. You'll find many cases where they tell you what the system can do, but rarely do they tell you why you want to use a particular feature. Once you understand source/destination editing and their fade editor, you'll be in great shape.

One big help is to have a friend who uses Pyramix that you can call with questions. But once you see how the editing model works in Pyramix, you'll wonder how you ever got along without it.

I don't run Parallels or Boot Camp on my Macs, but I doubt that you will mess anything up by installing Pyramix and trying it. Both the Marks have given you some great advice about storage options.

Just don't get frustrated when trying to learn. Remember that there are many Pyramix users turning out beautiful and very complicated classical music recordings on this system every day.
Perfect Record
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 06:09
Location: St Paul, Minnesota USA

Re: Mac Pro 8-core Westmere, RME HDSPe MADI, PMX8

Postby johndsadams » Fri Jan 25, 2013 05:56

Hi,

I'm constantly flipping back and forth between ProTools and PMX native both on a MBP and a MacPro. Everything works well and is stable.

PMX is really good for editing. The editing model allows one to make very many edits in a fraction of the time it might take you on ProTools. I prefer PTs for mixing, though. There have been a few projects where I completed the editing with PMX then mixed in ProTools!

-John
John D.S. Adams
Stonehouse Sound
http://www.stonehousesound.com
User avatar
johndsadams
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 06:46
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Next

Return to Pyramix Native

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron