Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Pyramix Native users forum
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby David Jacques » Thu May 06, 2010 17:30

This place is dedicated to users who like to share their experience with ASIO interfaces in Pyramix Native.
David Jacques
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:31

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby David Jacques » Thu May 06, 2010 17:44

I tested the TC StudioKonnekt48 interface (2.4.1.6457).
I always thought that TC had quite efficient hardware (like Finalizer or system 6000 that I have used intensively)
But I had quickly a bad impression :( The Mixer part ot the TC software doesn’t initiate each time, sometimes you have to close and reopen the TC software to make the TC mixer appear.
And it seems it doesn't like sampling rate changes...if you switch between two projects in Pyramix, the TC can become unresponsive and prevent any playback.
David Jacques
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:31

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby J.Wajer » Thu May 06, 2010 17:55

Also working quite nicely are the Terratec 24/96 and the RME Hammerfall series, though the latter has the same S/R problems as the TC studio connect.
...Gracefully Ignored...
User avatar
J.Wajer
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:25
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby phaseboy » Thu May 06, 2010 21:42

I use the PrismSound Orpheus and am very happy with it. No problems using it with pyramix and switching around projects/sample rates etc....
Mark S. Willsher
(studio: +1-818-284-6136)
http://www.pin3hot.com
User avatar
phaseboy
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 23:41
Location: San Francisco

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby fl » Fri May 07, 2010 11:49

RME Fireface 800 here. A couple of months back, RME went through some rapid revisions to their Fireface ASIO driver. At one point, it was causing Pyramix to crash when exiting the program. However, all that was fixed with a more recent revision - 2.9992. They appear to be on the verge of issuing version 3.something, which is supposed to heal all ills with Windows 7. I'm sticking with XP SP3 for the time being, and may wind up sticking with 2.9992, because - it just works.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.0.4/Native Music 9.1.10
Win7 Pro SP1 64/32
Bootcamp 5.1.5621/4.0.4033
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)/MacBook Pro 3.1 (Core2Duo)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.122
User avatar
fl
 
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby fl » Fri May 07, 2010 12:05

Also, let's not forget ASIO4ALL - currently at version 2.10, which works like a charm to enable Pyramix (or any other program looking for an ASIO output) to use the computer's internal sound hardware (in my case, my MacBook Pro's RealTek audio hardware). Handy when you don't want to carry more hardware than just your laptop with you.

It also will work with most any other audio interface out there.

See my post here:

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=6696

for instructions how to configure ASIO4ALL for use with onboard RealTek High Definition Audio hardware, so that it can play back material with sample rates above 48 kHz.

Edited 2010/07/08 to current version and high sample rate playback information.
Last edited by fl on Thu Jul 08, 2010 23:31, edited 2 times in total.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.0.4/Native Music 9.1.10
Win7 Pro SP1 64/32
Bootcamp 5.1.5621/4.0.4033
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)/MacBook Pro 3.1 (Core2Duo)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.122
User avatar
fl
 
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby Jonathon Stevens » Fri May 07, 2010 23:59

Benchmark DAC-1 USB with the ASIO4ALL driver, works like a charm.
Jonathon Stevens
jonathon@centitone.com
User avatar
Jonathon Stevens
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 21:16
Location: San Rafael, CA

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby charlienyc » Tue May 11, 2010 17:18

thanks for bringing this up here, David. i'm running a Lynx AES-16 card in my main editing rig and a Lynx AES-16 in my backup remote / laptop rig - both rock solid. i'm also having great luck with a Mytek 8x192 running via firewire to a laptop, at 44.1/48 and often at 2fs.

anyone running 2 8x192 units together? also, has anyone tried the Weiss AF-I1?
cheers,
-c
2x MassCore v10.1.4 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus w/3 AD8p, 6 AD8, 1 DA8, 2 DA8p
Native v10.1.4 Win7/64 Pro i7 HP
Native v10.1.4 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U 2.6GHz
Native V8.1 Win7/32 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V8.1 Win7/32 ThinkPad R61
User avatar
charlienyc
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby Graemme » Wed May 12, 2010 06:57

Until recently I used a Lynx Aurora 8 with firewire interface and it worked well. The deal-breaker for me was that an AES-16 couldn't also be run in the same PC, using both simultaneously. I'm currently checking out the Prism Orpheus...sounds great and the driver is very reliable!

Graemme
Graemme Brown
Zen Mastering
1460 Wild Rose Drive
Gabriola Island, BC
Canada V0R 1X5
+1.604.874.9096

"A Horus, A Horus; My Kingdom for a Horus!"
User avatar
Graemme
 
Posts: 2195
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 22:18
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby charlienyc » Wed May 12, 2010 07:12

hi Graemme, i was curious about the Lynx Aurora, but am not sure of the quality of the conversion. still, you're limited to 8 I/O in this scenario. i'm trying to break the 8ch. limitation.
2x MassCore v10.1.4 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus w/3 AD8p, 6 AD8, 1 DA8, 2 DA8p
Native v10.1.4 Win7/64 Pro i7 HP
Native v10.1.4 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U 2.6GHz
Native V8.1 Win7/32 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V8.1 Win7/32 ThinkPad R61
User avatar
charlienyc
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby Graemme » Wed May 12, 2010 10:10

Hi Charlie,

The Aurora is pretty good...it doesn't sound as good as either the Orpheus or my EMM Labs gear, but neither does much else ;-> The Aurora 16 is also available and I've used it with Pyramix Native - no problems.

Graemme
Graemme Brown
Zen Mastering
1460 Wild Rose Drive
Gabriola Island, BC
Canada V0R 1X5
+1.604.874.9096

"A Horus, A Horus; My Kingdom for a Horus!"
User avatar
Graemme
 
Posts: 2195
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 22:18
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby tomas » Wed May 12, 2010 10:43

Steinberg MR816X here. Works well with a HP laptop (TI FW controller) Win XP sp3 for post-production duties. Very good cost to performance ratio.

Best /Tomas
tomas
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 22:23
Location: Sweden

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby tas » Thu May 20, 2010 11:09

Prism Orpheus here as well. Great overall but I do experience PMX crashes, some of them interface related. In general I find that I need to "reset" ,i.e. pull the plug on the Orpheus every now and then. Should make a note that it runs on a bootcamped mac pro.
PMX 8.0.12 Native, Windows 7 Ultimate, MacPro, Bootcamp 4.0, RME MadiFX
tas
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 15:41

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby benyheg88 » Wed May 26, 2010 10:41

Hi,
RME Fireface 800 here with the latest firmware (2.77) and driver (2.9992), Windows7 32bit on a Dell E6400 notebook. Rock solid, no problem encountered yet.
benyheg88
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:41
Location: Hungary

Re: Which ASIO interface do you use ?

Postby johndsadams » Fri Jun 11, 2010 02:39

Hello,
RME Fireface 800 here (2.9992), Windows7 32bit on a MacBook Pro in Bootcamp. I have it all chained with an external HD via Firewire 800. Firewire connections in general are so non-pro but it seems to be working. In editing sessions everything works extremely well. I just started recording with this set-up and there were a few crashes. I tweaked the system a bit and it seemed to stabilize.
-John
John D.S. Adams
Stonehouse Sound
http://www.stonehousesound.com
User avatar
johndsadams
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 06:46
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Next

Return to Pyramix Native

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest