One instance of PMX Already Running

Pyramix Native users forum
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!
User avatar
RickTarrant
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 23:07
Location: Memphis, Tennessee - USA
Contact:

One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby RickTarrant » Thu Mar 15, 2018 22:18

Is anyone getting this error when attempting to re-launch PMX?

"One instanceof this application is already running"

Then I open Task MGR and have to END TASK to relaunch PMX.

I had this in 10.2 but assumed it was because it wasn't qualified with WIN10.
Alas, it has followed me to 11.0.2

Rick
--
Rick Tarrant
--
Windows 10 Pro 64
Pyramix 11.0.6 [native]
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU i7 6700K
RAM 32GB DDR4
GPU AMD Radeon R5 220

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1324
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby fl » Fri Mar 16, 2018 15:02

How much time passes between quitting Pyramix, and attempting to re-start it? Do you encounter the same problem if you wait longer (than might seem reasonable)?

Often, when working with Windows, I find I have to count to ten...
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
• Pyramix Native
• Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7) - Bootcamp 5.1.5621 - Win7 Pro SP1 64
• HP 7100 Mini-tower - Win10 Pro 64 1809
• RME Fireface 800 ASIO driver 3.125 or ASIO4All 2.13

User avatar
charlienyc
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 22:40
Location: chicago, il
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby charlienyc » Fri Mar 16, 2018 18:09

fl wrote:Often, when working with Windows, I find I have to count to ten...


Good point. If I shut off my fader controller soon (within seconds) after quitting Pmx, Pyramix will crash instead of closing cleanly. Then it loses the most recent projects, etc.
2x MassCore v11.0.6 Win7/64 i5-3450
3x Horus for 72 In / 24 out in PCM
Native V11 Win10/64 Xeon 3520 2.67GHz RME HDSP MADI
Native V11 Win10/64 ThinkPad P51 i7-7700HQ w/Hapi, iFi iDSD nano
Native V11 Win10 Bootcamp Mac Mini i5-4278U

User avatar
RickTarrant
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 23:07
Location: Memphis, Tennessee - USA
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby RickTarrant » Fri Mar 16, 2018 19:12

It is an intermittent issue and it my very well be that it happens after a CRASH event. It's not doing it at the moment.

rt
--
Rick Tarrant
--
Windows 10 Pro 64
Pyramix 11.0.6 [native]
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU i7 6700K
RAM 32GB DDR4
GPU AMD Radeon R5 220

avi
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 00:10
Location: London, UK

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby avi » Sat Mar 17, 2018 19:52

This has been an intermittent issue I've experienced from v5 upwards - sometimes it just doesn't seem to quit cleanly, and is still 'running' in the background, so to boot again it is necessary to use Task manager to kill the application / process first.
Alexander Van Ingen
Six Music Productions
www.sixmp.co.uk

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1324
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby fl » Sat Mar 17, 2018 20:32

The next time this happens, the following might yield some helpful information that, supplied to Merging Support, could help them trace the source of the issue:
1. Call the Task Manager, but don't force-quit Pyramix just yet.
2. In the Applications Tab, Right-click on Pyramix, and in the pop-up, select "Go to Process".
3. This display will shift to the Processes Tab, and any process associated with Pyramix still running will be highlighted. There may be more than one. Make a note of what's running.
4. Right click on a highlighted Process and choose "Go to Services", and note which are highlighted there.
Then go back to the Applications Tab to force-quit Pyramix. Technically, you should then re-boot your system.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
• Pyramix Native
• Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7) - Bootcamp 5.1.5621 - Win7 Pro SP1 64
• HP 7100 Mini-tower - Win10 Pro 64 1809
• RME Fireface 800 ASIO driver 3.125 or ASIO4All 2.13

User avatar
RickTarrant
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 23:07
Location: Memphis, Tennessee - USA
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby RickTarrant » Mon Mar 19, 2018 17:24

Thanks Frank. As always, very helpful.
--
Rick Tarrant
--
Windows 10 Pro 64
Pyramix 11.0.6 [native]
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU i7 6700K
RAM 32GB DDR4
GPU AMD Radeon R5 220

User avatar
RickTarrant
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 23:07
Location: Memphis, Tennessee - USA
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby RickTarrant » Tue May 08, 2018 16:45

UPDATE FYI:

I followed the steps outlined above and the only thing highlighted is Pyramix and under the processes page no other items were highlighted.
three Merging processes were running along with scores of other things. I don't think that sheds any light.

rt
--
Rick Tarrant
--
Windows 10 Pro 64
Pyramix 11.0.6 [native]
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU i7 6700K
RAM 32GB DDR4
GPU AMD Radeon R5 220

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1324
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby fl » Tue May 08, 2018 17:25

Well, darn...

I guess then that the only thing left, until Merging provides more information or an updated and fixed version, is to check your Task Manager to make sure it has truly quit, before attempting to re-start Pyramix.

It's my understanding that unlike the MacOS, Windows does not employ "protected memory" so that when a program crashes, it leaves behind a mess of partially written or corrupted temporary files, and quite possibly a process/service or two still running, because the proper shutdown protocols did not take place. To avoid further issues, I've always re-started the computer following any program crash, as this seems to clear out the temporary file mess, and to end any lingering processes. Yeah, it takes a minute or two, which can be filled with anxiety, but in the long run I've found that taking the break allows me to get my head clear about what to do next, and to be reassured that the re-start will have solved many potential problems.
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
• Pyramix Native
• Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7) - Bootcamp 5.1.5621 - Win7 Pro SP1 64
• HP 7100 Mini-tower - Win10 Pro 64 1809
• RME Fireface 800 ASIO driver 3.125 or ASIO4All 2.13

avi
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 00:10
Location: London, UK

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby avi » Tue May 08, 2018 17:47

Hi Frank,
What you say is true, and good advice. But this can happen with a simple 'quit' of PMX (where it appear to have shut correctly), not necessarily the result of a crash. And in that instance it's really quite annoying!
Alexander Van Ingen

Six Music Productions

www.sixmp.co.uk

User avatar
fl
Posts: 1324
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby fl » Wed May 09, 2018 15:23

Agreed - there's nothing worse than when you've finished all your work, and are shutting down everything because it's quittin' time, only to have some problem like this crop up at the last minute, requiring you to stick around and tinker...
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
• Pyramix Native
• Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7) - Bootcamp 5.1.5621 - Win7 Pro SP1 64
• HP 7100 Mini-tower - Win10 Pro 64 1809
• RME Fireface 800 ASIO driver 3.125 or ASIO4All 2.13

User avatar
RickTarrant
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 23:07
Location: Memphis, Tennessee - USA
Contact:

Re: One instance of PMX Already Running

Postby RickTarrant » Thu May 10, 2018 19:40

...and speaking of tinkering....
this is not PMX related but an example of how frustrating it is when software and drivers and hardware just decide that TODAY is your day.

I had a Focusrite Scarlet 6i6 that was getting the annoying "No Hardware Connected" nonsense so I replaced it and gave it to a school where I do some volunteer work. Well the No Hardware issue returned on a Windows 7 machine. All cables are connected - drivers up to date - no audio. Google it for a solution - try ASIO4ALL - install - reboot - no love - Google some more - Focusrite has a newer driver - download - install - wait you can't install - Windows 7 says its not a legit windows app - Focusrite says your windows is not up to date - windows update won't download the latest update - workaround??? go to this microsoft solution and download this update and that update to install manually - but wait you can't install these they are for AMD processor and yours is intel and so it goes.... At that point three hours has passed and made no headway and no money. The moral to the story? Throw that piece of @#$ Focusrite into the trash and get one that just works.
BTW - i have a very inexpensive Behringer FCAA610 that just works ALL the time - even in a 24/7 radio station application. And the micpres ain't bad. I did a shootout between this less than $300 device and a $3000 preamp - and while I could hear a difference - it was no 3000 difference. The Behringer stuff ain't what it was 20 years ago.
OK I feel better now!
Thanks

rick
--
Rick Tarrant
--
Windows 10 Pro 64
Pyramix 11.0.6 [native]
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU i7 6700K
RAM 32GB DDR4
GPU AMD Radeon R5 220