CPU usage in pyramix native

Pyramix Native users forum
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby johndsadams » Wed Aug 05, 2015 23:41

UPDATE TO PREVIOUS POST
I uninstalled Alitiverb and re-installed up to v7.2.5... same CPU overage problems. This time during playback the audio just cuts (playback continues) and the CPU meter is stuck on 80%.
4 instances of Ozone, one instance of Oxford EQ and one instance of Alitverb.

I'm not sure what changed because the last time I have this session open it worked without audible glitching. Dammit.

-john
John D.S. Adams
Stonehouse Sound
http://www.stonehousesound.com
User avatar
johndsadams
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 06:46
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby Thomas Grubb » Sat Aug 08, 2015 02:49

Hi John,

There certainly have always been issues with Altiverb and Pyramix - I can't create a non-realtime mixdown when creating an MTFF file for example with Altiverb - crashes the system. Works in realtime though! This is with the latest MassCore version of Pyramix and Altiverb 7. There are also issues with Ozone 6. Hope these plugins behave better in v10!

Cheers,
Tom
Thomas Grubb
manomusica.com
Melbourne
Thomas Grubb
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 02:20
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby DanGeo » Sun Aug 09, 2015 17:30

Just a curious question for those of you getting the clicks and pops on playback.

If you un-check "Rea Time" in the Mix Down window and it mixes in the background at what ever speed it comfortably can, do you still get the clicks and pops on the mixed file?

Thanks
Dan
Dan Geocaris
SoundGlyph
Middleton, WI
DanGeo
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 18:24

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby johndsadams » Wed Aug 19, 2015 18:13

Dan,
NO. When monitoring I'm getting pops and click but when I mix down at non-realtime the audio is clean.
Frustrated.
-John
John D.S. Adams
Stonehouse Sound
http://www.stonehousesound.com
User avatar
johndsadams
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 06:46
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby johndsadams » Wed Aug 19, 2015 20:55

Here's an interesting development...
The native system I'm using is in my studio which is giving me trouble (not my system I go out to record with) is using my old DIGIDESIGN 192 IO as the interface (I know what you're thinking) whose AES/EBU output is patched into my Grace monitor controller. Well I was getting desperate to continue work on this project without it clicking and popping all the time so I hauled out my HORUS which I normally use for when I'm on location recording just to see...
Patched in the HORUS via ASIO Ravenna and voila. Clicks and pops seriously reduced. What's going on there I have no idea as my computer would theoretically be using MORE CPU to handle the who Ravenna protocol. What do I know?!
I am still getting the occasional pop or click but it is directly correlated with the appearance of RED in the Pyramix CPU meter. Before I was hearing audio disruptions when the meter was NOT displaying red.

So for now I think I can continue working without going too crazy although I do feel like I should be achieving a much higher usage of VST plugins before hitting the CPU top.

-John
John D.S. Adams
Stonehouse Sound
http://www.stonehousesound.com
User avatar
johndsadams
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 06:46
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby DJS » Wed Aug 19, 2015 22:47

Hi John, with the Digidesign box patched in, who or what was the master clock?
David Spearritt
Classical and Acoustic Music, BNE, Australia
DJS
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 05:26
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby Jesse.Lewis » Tue Jul 12, 2016 00:17

johndsadams wrote:Hi,
I'm running 9.1.8 on a MacPro Xeon 8 core CPU with Windows 7 64 bit. I just installed an update of Altiverb 7.2.6 (which reports better memory usage) and suddenly have major audio clicks and disruptions due to CPU usage.

I came here and read through this thread hoping to find solutions.

I did open up the Resource Monitor and noticed activity on all 8 cores at different times. It appeared that when Pyramix was running with CPU sucking plugins (Altiverb and Ozone) that multiple cores became active. Interestingly, as I began to mix down my CPU monitor in PMX hit red and stayed red and 2 cores seemed to become inactive. Not sure whats going on there!

I may uninstall this most recent version of Altiverb and go back to the previous version to see if I can regain any CPU headroom. I'll report back.

-John


Using 10.1.2 Native, I am reviving this thread because we are still having very poor ASIO performance if many plugs are running: 1) badly degraded audio performance 2) CPU meter does not reflect all clicks/ticks in audio 3) third party ASIO devices do not work above 2048 samples of ASIO delay compensation (higher delay comp allows for more processing, but causes playback cursor sync problems far more serious than the glitching itself).

We have a Mac Pro which we wish we could use with Pyramix, but cannot because Native is not multi-threaded and can't handle substantial processing count (!!!). If you will notice on your very big system, Pyramix's allocation of processing power is never more than 1 core (1/8th or 12.5% in an 8-core system).

What are your experiences here? I would like to make Native more useful, and am looking for any experiences others have to do so.

Thanks,
Jesse
Jesse.Lewis
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 18:58

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby johndsadams » Fri Jul 22, 2016 02:45

Hi Jesse,
Since I last posted on this thread, I've upgraded my Pyramix native (10.0.7 here) computer to an i7 6700k tower CPU (upgraded from a MacPro 8 core). This has seriously solved my CPU limit problems. I'm using my HORUS as the interface. I haven't monitored the CPU activity while working in PMX on this new computer, but I will and let you know what I see.
-John
John D.S. Adams
Stonehouse Sound
http://www.stonehousesound.com
User avatar
johndsadams
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 06:46
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby DJS » Thu Sep 08, 2016 18:21

Jesse.Lewis wrote:I came here and read through this thread hoping to find solutions.

Merging's position on this is to use Masscore rather than to revise the code and multi-thread Native. Confirmed (Aug 2016) by Johan Wadston, PMX Product Manager, until recently.
David Spearritt
Classical and Acoustic Music, BNE, Australia
DJS
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 05:26
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: CPU usage in pyramix native

Postby fl » Thu Sep 08, 2016 18:28

DJS wrote:Johan Wadston, PMX Product Manager, until recently.


Are you saying that Johan has left Merging?
Frank Lockwood, Toronto, ON, Canada
http://LockwoodARS.com
Native 11.0.4/Native Music 9.1.10
Win7 Pro SP1 64/32
Bootcamp 5.1.5621/4.0.4033
Mac Mini 6.2 (Quadcore i7)/MacBook Pro 3.1 (Core2Duo)
RME Fireface 800, driver version 3.122
User avatar
fl
 
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 19:55
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Previous

Return to Pyramix Native

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron