Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Pyramix Native users forum
Forum rules
The Merging Technologies team cannot be held responsible for support queries logged on the public forums. If a support query is logged here and only here, it may not be found and dealt with by the appropriate team.
To ensure that your support issue or bug report is dealt with properly and in good time, please use the link to the tech support request form page on the Merging website.
Make sure to let us know what version you are using when you send your mail. THANKS!
Larry Elliott
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 00:18
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby Larry Elliott » Mon Apr 07, 2014 00:26

If both units are used is the Del switcher that is approved for Mass Core required?

Thanks
Larry

DJS
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 05:26
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby DJS » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:50

Hi Larry, if you have a computer and both Horus and Hapi on the same network segment, you will need a switch.
David Spearritt
Classical and Acoustic Music, BNE, Australia

Larry Elliott
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 00:18
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby Larry Elliott » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:54

Understand that David. What I'm trying to. Determine is if the approved Masscore Dell switch will work. Life was so much simpler with tape.

klaukholm
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby klaukholm » Tue Apr 08, 2014 17:32

Larry Elliott wrote:Understand that David. What I'm trying to. Determine is if the approved Masscore Dell switch will work. Life was so much simpler with tape.


The switch only sees ravenna devices and will happily connect to a Lawo, MasscorePMX, NativePMX and a Dotec at the same time and all those devices will be seen by eachother.

Bernhard Guettler
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 13:35
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby Bernhard Guettler » Wed Apr 09, 2014 07:49

klaukholm wrote:
Larry Elliott wrote:Understand that David. What I'm trying to. Determine is if the approved Masscore Dell switch will work. Life was so much simpler with tape.


The switch only sees ravenna devices and will happily connect to a Lawo, MasscorePMX, NativePMX and a Dotec at the same time and all those devices will be seen by eachother.

Hi Kjetil,
DOTec too? I can't see a producer.com on a Ravenna network.
How do you do it?

Cheers, B.

klaukholm
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby klaukholm » Wed Apr 09, 2014 08:10

Bernhard, the ravenna card for the producer is due for release in a month or so as is their madi/ravenna box

No word

Bernhard Guettler
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 13:35
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby Bernhard Guettler » Thu Apr 24, 2014 23:01

klaukholm wrote:Bernhard, the ravenna card for the producer is due for release in a month or so as is their madi/ravenna box

No word

Yes, and do you know the price? …
I bought two producer.com years ago in the belief they would support Ravenna, since it said so in the product specs, but little did I know…
Well they *did* support Ravenna, sort of, in the future, after a very pricey hardware upgrade… :wink:

klaukholm
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby klaukholm » Thu Apr 24, 2014 23:20

Bernhard Guettler wrote:
klaukholm wrote:Bernhard, the ravenna card for the producer is due for release in a month or so as is their madi/ravenna box

No word

Yes, and do you know the price? …
I bought two producer.com years ago in the belief they would support Ravenna, since it said so in the product specs, but little did I know…
Well they *did* support Ravenna, sort of, in the future, after a very pricey hardware upgrade… :wink:


I bought two producers over two years ago with a specific order for a ravenna card. I heard nothing and got an invoice and a two units unable to use ravenna for years.

Did you get your ravenna cards?
How much are they, I cannot get an answer from the distributor

a.stinson
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 04:55
Contact:

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby a.stinson » Fri Apr 25, 2014 06:01

klaukholm wrote:How much are they, I cannot get an answer from the distributor


When I looked into this last year the option card alone was approx 1400 euro for the Ravenna option card alone 8O

Limited to 8 I/O @ 96khz.

klaukholm
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby klaukholm » Fri Apr 25, 2014 07:39

a.stinson wrote:
klaukholm wrote:How much are they, I cannot get an answer from the distributor


When I looked into this last year the option card alone was approx 1400 euro for the Ravenna option card alone 8O

Limited to 8 I/O @ 96khz.

???
That must be a mistake, they cannot be serious, for that money you can pretty much buy a hapi chassis and connect them via adat...

a.stinson
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 04:55
Contact:

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby a.stinson » Fri Apr 25, 2014 09:39

klaukholm wrote:That must be a mistake, they cannot be serious, for that money you can pretty much buy a hapi chassis and connect them via adat...


Yes it certainly seemed extreme to me also, it was still unreleased when I inquired hopefully the pricing will be more reasonable when its actually a finished product.

Bernhard Guettler
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 13:35
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby Bernhard Guettler » Fri Apr 25, 2014 13:22

And on top of that IIRC there will be another card that is not limited in the channel count, that's the one direct out recommends to purchase in the future, and that one will be even more expensive… It's a bit of a joke actually considering the original purchase price of a direct.out unit. I bought it in good faith it could handle Ravenna, I'm even ready to pay a little to update the hardware, but what I heard about the pricing for the Ravenna upgrade is simply not acceptable.
Sorry everybody for the thread hijack. We were talking about producer.com, not Hapi or Horus.
Cheers
B.

klaukholm
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby klaukholm » Fri Apr 25, 2014 17:55

Bernhard Guettler wrote:And on top of that IIRC there will be another card that is not limited in the channel count, that's the one direct out recommends to purchase in the future, and that one will be even more expensive… It's a bit of a joke actually considering the original purchase price of a direct.out unit. I bought it in good faith it could handle Ravenna, I'm even ready to pay a little to update the hardware, but what I heard about the pricing for the Ravenna upgrade is simply not acceptable.
Sorry everybody for the thread hijack. We were talking about producer.com, not Hapi or Horus.
Cheers
B.

It shows that the Hapi is offered at a great pricepoint!
All I now need is a simple small ravenna enabled remote that triggers GPO events for talk, signal light and conductor mic and the Producer pair I have will be redundant

Bernhard Guettler
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu May 16, 2002 13:35
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby Bernhard Guettler » Sat Apr 26, 2014 09:13

klaukholm wrote:It shows that the Hapi is offered at a great pricepoint!
All I now need is a simple small ravenna enabled remote that triggers GPO events for talk, signal light and conductor mic and the Producer pair I have will be redundant

Good idea, have you lobbied Merging for that?
We need two things.

A Hardware Remote box (functionality basically like the producer.com remote, Ravenna connection)

and a specialized I/O card for Hapi/Horus, that handles the usual studio comms/signaling
-talk/listen mic in
-stereo analog out balanced (control room monitoring)
-aux mono out balanced (control room/stage com/listen speaker)
-red light output (GPO, 12V, ≥100mA)
-telephone
-…?

klaukholm
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 00:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Horus and Hapi under ASIO

Postby klaukholm » Sat Apr 26, 2014 09:48

Bernhard Guettler wrote:
klaukholm wrote:It shows that the Hapi is offered at a great pricepoint!
All I now need is a simple small ravenna enabled remote that triggers GPO events for talk, signal light and conductor mic and the Producer pair I have will be redundant

Good idea, have you lobbied Merging for that?
We need two things.

A Hardware Remote box (functionality basically like the producer.com remote, Ravenna connection)

and a specialized I/O card for Hapi/Horus, that handles the usual studio comms/signaling
-talk/listen mic in
-stereo analog out balanced (control room monitoring)
-aux mono out balanced (control room/stage com/listen speaker)
-red light output (GPO, 12V, ≥100mA)
-telephone
-…?


I have sent an email to Ricardo asking wf they would consider implementing GPIO control for talkback, listen/conductor, redlight from a simple usb or network device such as this:
http://www.delcomproducts.com/productde ... ber=706503

The GPIO card for the horus will likely have 12v available, I asked that it would handle 1000m for redlight.

A simple 4 in AD/micpre and 4 out balanced DA card with the exact same circuits as the current cards would likely be a popular option for controlroom Hapi

I will start a new thread on this topic in the suggestion forum, lets continue this part of the discussion there

New thread
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=10259